

### **NEWS RELEASE - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

# NHH staff and physicians honoured at annual service, education and leadership award ceremony

**NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY, Tuesday, May 16th 2017—**Northumberland Hills Hospital's annual recognition ceremony recognizing staff and physician achievements in service, education and leadership was held last week in the hospital's Education Centre.

Fifty-nine individuals were recognized at the event hosted by Linda Davis, NHH's President and CEO, and attended by recipients accompanied by their family and friends. Twenty-five individuals received 10-year pins, 11 received 15-year pins and two were recognized for 20 and 25 years respectively. Six individuals were honoured for 30 years of service, and one staff member, Health Records Technician Heather Brooking, was recognized this year for 40 years of dedicated service.

Dr. David Broderick, Chief of Staff, highlighted the specific contributions of a large group of physicians who earned long-service awards this year. Eight physicians were recognized as follows by Dr. Broderick with years of service ranging from a decade to 40 years:

- Dr. Sania Hakim (anesthetist) and Dr. Joseph Parravano (radiologist), both recognized for 10 years of service to NHH;
- Drs. Haig Basmajian (general surgeon) and Dr. Michael Bayer (general practitioner), recognized for 20 years of service;
- Dr. Alison Collins, the medical leader for NHH's laboratory services, received her 25year pin and Dr. Michael Green, for many years the only obstetrician-gynecologist in the region, was recognized for 35 years of dedicated service; and
- Drs. Paul Caldwell and Ari Haukioja, general practitioners, were each thanked for 40 years of hospital service.

Elizabeth Selby, Vice Chair of NHH's volunteer Board of Directors, took the podium to recognize the efforts of **Dr. Broderick**, who himself celebrated 20 years of service to NHH this year, and is preparing to retire from his Chief of Staff role next month.

"David has provided 20 years of dedicated service to our hospital, including a remarkable 13 years as Chief of Staff," said Selby. "We thank David for the many, many hours of service he has given to NHH, its medical team and the patients we serve. We are stronger for your efforts."

Education awards were presented to three hospital staff members this year: **Pam Knott**, Magnetic Resonance (MR) Charge Technologist, completed her MR Safety Officer Certification, Registered Nurse **Rebecca Rutherford** completed her Bachelor of Nursing degree and Registered Nurse **Sharon Tripp** completed her Master of Nursing degree.

Announcement of the 2017 recipients of NHH's Leadership and Innovation Awards concluded the evening ceremony.

**Lodi De Wilde**, Fourth-Class Stationary Engineer in the NHH Environmental Services department, is this year's Outstanding Innovation Award recipient.

Presented annually to a member of the hospital team who has demonstrated an outstanding ability to take command of a project or situation, the peer-nominated award recognizes Lodi's contributions behind the scenes to regulate temperature and air control in the building. Though his work is not often seen directly by patients, visitors or staff, it has a major impact.

"Lodi's ongoing analysis and superb attention to detail for our plant operations help us to maximize efficiency of our sophisticated mechanical equipment," said CEO Linda Davis. "In the course of a year this has significant financial and environmental impact by cutting both energy costs and consumption."

**Professional Practice Leader Kim Lawn** is NHH's 2017 Outstanding Leadership Award recipient. Kim was nominated specifically for her work supporting two of the hospital's Late Career Nursing Initiative (LCNI) projects on initiating patient-controlled analgesia in the post-acute care unit.

As one of NHH's LCNI project mentors, Lawn partnered with two senior RNs to assist with the planning, development and implementation of their project, guiding and coaching them through the process to help ensure successful planning and completion and improve patient outcomes.

"Kim, your commitment to quality care and the integration of best practices at NHH is well known," said CEO Linda Davis. "Your contribution and mentorship in this particular project is a wonderful example of the many ways you exemplify the roles of leader, role model and coach. Thank you for all you do for NHH and the patients and families we serve."

For a complete listing the 2017 recipients, please see below. For further information, contact Jennifer Gillard at jaillard@nhh.ca or 905-377-7757.

About Northumberland Hills Hospital – Located approximately 100 kilometres east of Toronto, NHH delivers a broad range of acute, post-acute, outpatient and diagnostic services. Acute services include emergency and intensive care, medical/surgical care, obstetrical care and palliative care. Post-acute specialty services (PASS) include restorative care and rehabilitation. Mental health care, chemotherapy, dialysis and 16 other ambulatory care clinics are offered on an outpatient basis through partnerships with regional centres and nearby specialists. NHH offers a full range of diagnostic services, including magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), computed tomography (CT) and mammography. The hospital serves the catchment area of west Northumberland County. A mixed urban and rural population of more than 60,000 residents, west Northumberland comprises the Town of Cobourg, the Municipality of Port Hope and the townships of Hamilton, Cramahe and Alnwick/Haldimand. NHH employs approximately 600 people and relies on the additional support provided by physicians and volunteers. NHH is an active member of the Central East Local Health Integration Network. For more information, please visit <a href="www.nhh.ca">www.nhh.ca</a> or follow us on Twitter <a href="www.nhh.ca">@NorHillsHosp</a>.

## 10 Years

Sara Aubin Stacey Baskin Denise Beaudoin Shawn Brown Terri Calder Andrea Couch Cassondra Daigle Kim Douglas Kathy Esson Sabrina Guite
Lorelei Kenny
Amanda Lent
Kristin Gutteridge
Gloria McKay
Sharon McKinnon-Leclerc
Elizabeth Morten
Heather Nowee
Joanne Poirier

Denise Pyke April Rowell Katherine Storms-Meier Christina Walters Lindsey Woodman Carol Wright Shaureen Young

#### 15 Years

Heidi Auger
Judith Harper
Tanya Herman
Christine Kloosterman
Sharon Leroux
Anne Marie Losell
Mariette Pelletier
Cathy Rylott
Carole Thomson
Cheryl Usher
Kelly Walker

20 Years Sarah Cowin

<u>25 Years</u> Don Cholmondeley 30 Years
Whitney Lake
Ken Lamey
Jane Peters
Karen Sherwood-Lindsay
Deborah Taylor
Jamie West

40 Years
Heather Brooking

#### Physicians, Long Service

10 years – Dr. Sania Hakim
10 years – Dr. Joseph Parravano
20 years – Dr. Dave Broderick
20 years – Dr. Haig Basmajian
20 Years – Dr. Michael Bayer
25 years – Dr. Alison Collins
35 years – Dr. Michael Green
40 years – Dr. Paul Caldwell
40 Years – Dr Ari Haukioja

#### **Education Awards**

Rebecca Rutherford, Bachelor of Nursing Sharon Tripp – Master of Nursing Pam Knott, MR Safety Officer