

NEWS RELEASE - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NHH celebrates service, leadership and education achievements at annual award ceremony

NORTHUMBERLAND COUNTY, Friday, May 7, 2010 – Family, friends and colleagues filled the Education Centre at NHH last evening for the Hospital's annual ceremony celebrating staff accomplishments in the areas of service, leadership and education.

Long Service Awards were presented to those with 10 to 35 years of service to the Hospital. Including four dedicated community physicians recognized for passing significant milestones at NHH, a total of 47 individuals were recognized, with 11 of those completing more than 25 years.

Highlighting the essential role of community physicians in Northumberland Hills Hospital's day-to-day operation, Chief of Staff Dr. David Broderick opened the evening's presentations.

"Of the 40-plus community physicians currently working in our community, about 24 service the Hospital. This is a high number, and fairly unique in the province. It's also something we must aim to preserve." Thanking all the community physicians who work in departments such as the Emergency Department, Obstetrical Unit and Intensive Care, Dr. Broderick warmly commended Dr. Paul Hazell, recognized last night for 35 years of service, Dr. Jay Amin, for 30 years, and Drs. Kwok and Essak, for 20 years each.

Also announced last evening were the recipients of NHH's Leadership and Innovation Awards, recognizing staff members who go above and beyond the call of duty to make a difference at NHH. These distinctions, presented this year to two recipients in both categories, are awarded on the basis of nominations from within the Hospital team.

Cathy Setterington and Brenda Woosley received the Excellence in Leadership Award. Both Registered Nurses, the women have each risen to the challenge of taking on new acting positions within their respective departments (the Emergency Department and Dialysis) in the past year. Recognized for their ability to rally people around common goals during a time of considerable organizational change, both were thanked for their service to NHH and the patients they serve.

The Outstanding Innovation Award was presented to Radiologist Dr. Frank Marrocco and Senior Computed Tomography (CT) Technologist Faye Andrews, in recognition for their outstanding work with NHH's CT program.

In presenting their Award, President and CEO Robert Biron said: "While both of these individuals would identify their work as a team effort, shared across the entire Diagnostic Imaging department, the fact remains that Frank and Faye are exceptionally dedicated people, with skills we are most fortunate to have; the CT service we have today is a direct result of their dedicated work."

"For both of these individuals, patients come first, and we certainly see this in our patient feedback. Something that patients may not see, however, is the diligent work they have put into developing examination protocols with the scanner's manufacturer to push our new high-definition scanner to deliver the highest possible quality of scans, with the lowest possible radiation dose."

Also recognized last night was the contribution that Dr. Marrocco has made to the overall leadership of NHH's Diagnostic Imaging department.

"Frank assumed the role of Chief of Diagnostic Imaging Services in November 1991, and served in that position for over ten years before he handed the reigns to Dr. Matt Vaughan," noted Robert Biron. "During his tenure as Chief, Frank was very involved with the design of our Diagnostic Imaging department, and worked tirelessly, alongside our Foundation and Auxiliary partners, to ensure that it would be equipped with state-of-the-art equipment. The department, and the exceptionally high quality of services we provide in it today, would not have been possible without Frank's dedication and commitment to NHH."

Education Awards were also presented last evening. Twenty-eight staff members received recognition for personal education achievements in the past year, with a broad range of academic accomplishments represented.

In closing the evening's ceremonies, Biron said: "We are blessed with an exceptional workforce. When I look at the awards we've presented this evening, I am absolutely impressed. We've recognized excellence and teamwork across the entire organization. Congratulations to each and every one of you, and thank you for your continued dedication to NHH and the patients we serve."

For a complete list of the awards presented, please see below.

10 Years

Crystal Adams
Jill Bebee
Daphne Brine
Paula Burke
Lesley Cooper
Heather Dingwall
Andrea Doyle - Philp
Lisa Foreman
Wendy Garrison
Constance Gray
Teresa McCormack
Jo-Anne Merry
Julie Morgan
Cynthia Payne
Wendy Perry

Angela Schwantz Barbara Shaw Gwen Watson

20 Years

Julie Bick Alan Brockwell Barbara Ellis Kelli Giroux Patricia Ley Lisa Lyttle Elizabeth McDonald Suzanne O'Rourke Karen Phillips Robert Robertson Janice Shepherd Darlene Smith Peggy Smith Linda Stevenson Michelle Verbeem Sandra Ward

25 Years

Pamela Bates Kimberly Baxter Tami Dankmeyer

30 Years

Donna Bickle
Patricia Busch
Catherine Ferguson
Tammy Minifie
Linda Moore

35 Years

Barbara Evans

Physicians

Paul Hazell – 35 years Jay Amin – 30 years Mark Essak – 20 years Carson Kwok – 20 years

Education Award Recipients

Sherry Bannister - Food Service Worker Certificate
Pam Bates - Certified Diabetes Educator
Kim Baxter - Oncology Certificate
Denise Beaudoin - Food Service Worker Certificate
Cassondra Daigle - Food Service Worker Certificate
Cheryl DiMarco - Food Service Worker Certificate
Andrea Doyle - Philp - Certificate in Emergency Nursing
Michele Elder - Food Service Worker Certificate
Debbie Flay - Central Service Techniques Course
Elizabeth Geddes - Certificate in Emergency Nursing
Sheila Kilpatrick - Food Service Worker Certificate
Bernadette Klotz - Food Service Worker Certificate

Chris Loranger - MRI Certification Kristin Majer - Bone Mineral Densitometry Certification Kathi Meier – Certificate in Health Information Management Penny Muzzell - Central Service Techniques Course Tracey Reid - Food Service Worker Certificate Stephanie Ross - Masters, Nursing; Nurse Practitioner; Certified Diabetes Educator April Rowell - Food Service Worker Certificate John Russell – Certified Fund Raising Executive Debbie Sellers - Central Service Techniques Course Catherine Setterington – Certificate in Emergency Nursing Karen Truter - Bachelor of Nursing Karen Walsh - Food Service Worker Certificate Jane Watt - Food Service Worker Certificate Sarah West- Food Service Worker Certificate Cheryl Usher - Food Service Worker Certificate Carol Wright - Food Service Worker Certificate

For more information, please contact Jennifer Gillard at 905-377-7757 or jaillard@nhh.ca.

About Northumberland Hills Hospital – The Northumberland Hills Hospital (NHH) is located approximately 100 kilometres east of Toronto. The acute care hospital delivers a broad range of services, including emergency and intensive care, medical/surgical care, complex/long-term care, rehabilitation, palliative care and obstetrical care. A variety of ambulatory care clinics are also offered at NHH. In addition to these, NHH also sponsors a Community Mental Health Centre and an Assertive Community Treatment Team. The hospital serves the catchment area of west Northumberland County. A mixed urban and rural population of approximately 60,000 residents, west Northumberland comprises the Town of Cobourg, the Municipality of Port Hope and the townships of Hamilton, Cramahe and Alnwick/Haldimand. NHH employs close to 600 people and relies on the additional support provided by physicians and volunteers. NHH is an active member of the Central East LHIN. For more information, please visit www.nhh.ca.